Empowered Mind



How to Self-care Using Your Love Language

How can you align your love language and your self-care?

Based on the 5 love languages created by Dr. Gary Chapman, I believe that you can enjoy self-care that works with your personality. Below are some different ways that you can try based on your love language. If you’ve never taken the quiz before or need a refresher, here is the link to find out your love language:https://www.5lovelanguages.com/quizzes.

Words of Affirmations

“Words of affirmation are any spoken or written words that confirm, support, uplift, and positively empathize with another person. Words of affirmation are one of the five love languages, which are just specific ways of giving and receiving love in a relationship.” 

  1. Write your own positive words of affirmation daily
  2. Journal daily
  3. Create a gratitude Journal (or you can purchase and fill in the blank)

Quality time

“Quality time is the love language that centers around togetherness. It’s all about expressing your love and affection with your undivided attention.”

  1. Lunchtime with a friend
  2. FaceTime weekly with someone you enjoy talking to
  3. Dinner party
  4. Movie night

Acts of Service

“In terms of intimate relationships, Acts of Service is a language that can best be described as doing something for your partner that you know they would like, such as filling up their gas, watering their plants, or cooking them a meal. When you give Acts of Service, you give up your time. “

  1. Writing a letter or special note to someone who has done something kind for you 
  2. Doing a homemade facial
  3. Soaking your feet
  4. Cleaning up and/or decorating  your desk 

Physical Touch

“Physical touch refers to expressing and receiving affection through touch, physical closeness, and other forms of physical connection.”

  1. Getting a massage 
  2. Getting your hair done

Receiving Gifts

“If you or your partner’s love language is gifts that means you feel loved [or that you’re demonstrating love] with a tangible item.” 

  1. Buy yourself your favorite jewelry
  2. Treat yourself to your favorite outfit 
  3. Take yourself out to lunch or dinner

We all deserve to be loved and respected, and I think learning about the way that you like to be loved is one of the best things you can do for yourself. Also, loving yourself correctly makes it easier to love others well. 

Let us know in the comments below what your love language is, and how do you show yourself love? 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *